Pesto Making Day

It’s offically summer because I made my first two batches of pesto. The basil is growing and the more you trim it the better it does. Don’t ever let the plant flower. It doesn’t produce new leaves and some say it actually makes the basil  bitter.

Now my kitchen smells like the sweet basil and summer. I can’t explain the aroma but it puts you in a good mood. It reminds me of Italy. It reminds me of family.

All of my family love pesto. The original recipes call for one cup of olive oil which makes this calorie laden and pine nuts that are very expensive. I have played with this for several years and I think it is finally the right ingredients. I make it, put it in freezer bags and have it for an entire year. Of course, I share it with friends and family. If you do freeze, when ready to use, take out of bag and put in bowl to thaw.

Serves 4:

Ingredients:

3 cups fresh Basil
1/3 cup chicken broth
1/3 cup olive oil
1/3 cup hard Parmesan cheese, grated
3 cloves garlic
1/3 cup toasted walnuts

Directions:

Put basil, nuts, garlic and cheese in food processor and process until everything is minced.
Add olive oil and chicken broth, process until smooth but where you can see the bits of basil.You may need to add a bit of the pasta water to get it to the right consistency.  If you do freeze it, don’t add the pasta water until you thaw it and are ready to eat it.

Serve over one pound of pasta cooked according to package directions . The heat from the pasta will warm up the pesto. I always sprinkle more cheese over the top of it. You can never have too much cheese.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

