Most of my friends think that I am strictly a city girl, but that’s not true. I love being in nature and I love seeing animals out in their own habitat. We have been on several trips of that type and plan to do more.

One of the reasons I love the ocean is because I get to see the whales. They are magnificent creatures. Sometimes I think I might have been one in another life. Watching them play is so exciting and it just fascinates me. I just feel connected to them. One thing still on my bucket list is to get close enough to touch one. I almost got to do that on a zodiac trip in Kauai a few years back. It went right under the boat. I will try again.

The best viewing I’ve had was on a photo excursion in Juneau. We had at least  30 minutes of viewing time of them display their might and power. On that same trip, we also saw a grizzly wandering down the bank of a stream looking for fish. It was amazing. I was so excited I was in tears.

I spent one vacation in Arizona trying to track down some bugling elk but that ended with zero to see. But a couple of years later, while hiking, my husband and I saw a huge bull elk in Rocky Mountain National Park followed by a very large herd of them later in the day.

Also, I have been fortunate enough to see a female moose with her baby in Park City, Utah while on a hiking trip. Still, want to see a bull moose with his rack of antlers.

Like I said in the beginning, most don’t know what a close connection I have to nature. It is like a spiritual experience for me. It makes me feel closer to God. I love exploring His creations. I find real peace at the ocean and in the mountains.

Sedona, Arizona is another place that I like to hike, with all of the vortexes, there is a special energy that you feel.

Hopefully, my next adventure will be to see the Northern Lights in all its glory. Maybe I will catch a glimpse my bull moose there too. I will be sure to let you know.