Meemo’s Yummy Red Chili

This is a cross of my Mom’s and my Aunt Lucille’s chili. Both were very good but not exactly what I wanted. My Mom used tomato paste and my Aunt used tomato soup and neither of them used the dried spices. I started using tomato juice instead of diced tomatoes because the kids wouldn’t eat it with tomatoes. Now, however, I use whatever is in the pantry. I have learned over the years to put the dried herbs and spices in first to enhance their flavor. It kind of wakes them back up. I cook the macaroni separate now. I use to just throw it in at the last 15 minutes of cooking. What I have since realized is the macaroni doesn’t freeze well and all areas of the country don’t eat macaroni with their chili.

Serves 12:

Ingredients:

1 large onion, diced
1 tablespoon oil
3 tablespoons dried parsley
3 tablespoons dried celery flakes
1 tablespoon dried basil
1 tablespoon dried oregano
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 pound lean ground beef
1 teaspoon salt & pepper
3 15 oz cans chili beans, undrained, I like Bush beans
1 package chili seasoning
2 tablespoons chili powder
1 large can tomato juice
1 cup macaroni, optional

Directions:

Put oil in heated dutch oven and add onions. Just cook until tender, not brown
Add garlic, parsley, celery flakes, basil, and oregano. Cook about 2 minutes more.
Add ground beef, salt and pepper. Cook until browned breaking up meat into bite size pieces.
Add chili seasoning and chili powder. Mix into meat mixture
Add beans and tomato juice. Cook on medium heat for about 1 hour.
Cook macaroni in separate pan according to directions.
Serve by placing some macaroni in the bottom of bowl and top with a cup of chili.

Serve with shredded cheese, onions, and sour cream for toppings and Cornbread muffins.

 

Leave a Reply

